Posted in Mom life, Two Cents Worth of...

Take a Deep Breath

Today I did not write and schedule a blog like I have been the past few months. I am writing it mid-day and posting later than my 7:30 am deadline I give myself.

To be honest, life got busy as it does for everyone. I refused to pressure myself to pin a topic down and write it. I do that too often; pressure myself into being sure something is done for others. My mental health and anxiety is at stake when I do that and it’s not fair that I do it to myself.

Honestly, I could not pin point an exact “mom thought” for the week you would want to read about.

Truly, I had a stressful Tuesday at work that took a big toll on me and I had thought about that day leading up to it too. It’s been just me this week with our little guy since my husband took a quick trip with his buddy to fish, which he has thoroughly been enjoying and deserved.

The thought of stressing myself out was not worth it to make sure I wrote you the perfect blog though.

I have enjoyed a little extra one on one time each evening with my son. He has been getting extra time with his grandparents too since they have been helping watch him this week. That village, it is a real thing I am so very thankful for.

Putting our time first has been great, just him and me. Sure, I pressure myself at work to do the best I can and hit my deadlines and make sure every task on my checklist each day is marked off by the time I head home, but our time at home together is so important to me.

There is something about coming home and knowing you made it through the day a-okay and can spend that time being with your family.

Making it through every single day is an accomplishment. Remember that. Take the deep breath or the sigh of relief you deserve. You made it through.

I had taken that deep breath each night knowing I did my best as a mom, an employee, a daughter, and a friend.

Not every day is easy and not every day is your best. Nevertheless, make it through and know, there are more ahead.