Posted in Mom life, Two Cents Worth of...

Change Brings Change

My son is back in daycare. It’s great for him socially and he has missed other littles so much. He hops right on in there each morning like mom doesn’t exist! That makes me happy and sad at the same time. But here is the fun part, we have been developing a bit more independence and attitude. I’ll say it 1,000 more times, I’m blown away at how fast children learn and develop!

The huge one for us was that he is now walking. He was on the brink of walking right before he started 3 weeks ago, but we figured as soon as he saw others in daycare walking, he would jump on in. We were right about that and he is motoring everywhere now with that new found independence.

What else we are doing since going back is showing his frustration to things when he then reacts by either screaming, crying, or hitting me. He hits me pretty directly too with his misunderstanding of why he is not getting what he wants.

I’m not blaming daycare since he has quite the attitude prior to going and I will 100% take the fault on genetics for that one. Sorry buddy, that’s all mommy inside your personality there. I wouldn’t doubt though he has witnessed someone else doing it and maybe picked it up. Again, not their fault or other kids, it’s a developmental step for him to understand things and react.

Yes, I’m working to redirect his actions since at this age he is not entirely certain what he’s doing is wrong and the word “no” only makes him more agitated.

It isn’t fun to witness your kid be a little turd though. I hope it is mostly towards only me as his mom at home and he keeps his shit together around others though. That’s what we all hope as parents, right?

When he has a bad day and I’ve talked to my mom, I always joke with her, “if he keeps this up, he’s moving in with you!” So what if he is only a year old? We can joke about those false threats right?

Reality is though that while he is learning this new change, mom and dad are too. We have to work with him as patiently as we can and teach him right from wrong. With all of the changes that are occurring pretty regularly now, it’s guaranteed to bring further change to our lives.

We can let it stress us (mostly me) or we can learn with it and continue to work together. While I totally feel the frustration myself when he is mad or hits me, I have to find the patience he needs in his mom to help him.

Like I said, I’m amazed at how much and how fast they learn. So with that, he will learn quickly and we will get through this set of changes until the next ones come along!

Author:

I'm a new mama to a beautiful baby boy and am married to my wonderful husband. We're on this crazy journey together and learning how much our little man can teach us along the way.

One thought on “Change Brings Change

Leave a comment